Internet branding and social networking is not just a useful skill for writers but many different businesses and occupations.  It’s all a part of the global job market to take advantage of.  My biggest concern is I will not know the best way to implement these tools for my writing.  I know some social media sites are very user-friendly such as Twitter, Google plus, and LinkedIn, but it also depends on what company I plan on applying for.  Many different companies search for different aspects of a possible employee.  I am currently doing SEO work as it was mentioned in Karen M. Rider’s article.  This is helpful because it’s important to know how much traffic my writing is gaining and understanding my own appeal is essential to gaining attention from publishing houses. 

I enjoyed Ashleigh Mavros’s article about building strong connections with future employers and not just general connections through social media.  This should always be the overtone that young and aspiring writers carry when communicating with these employers.  I regularly try my best to stay current because when I get older I would rather not be clueless on important worldly events.  If I do this with my employers it will be easier to show my interest in their base of operations.  This idea ties into branding my work and selling myself as a skilled and efficient writer. 

Of all times to get something published and recognized, now is one of the best in my junior year of college.  If I do this and set up my online presence ahead of time, it will make it easier to build connections once I actually meet other industry leaders who can give me a path of opportunity.             




Leave a Reply.