After reading the articles assigned, my perspective of graduate school has changed almost entirely.  This change is not necessarily positive or negative, but more positive in the sense of planning for the future.  It could also be negative because it reminds me of my naïve personality I have become accustomed to over the course of my academic career.  The article on the seven questions to ask before attending graduate school will become a valuable checklist when reviewing my plans following graduation.  The time I have for schooling is long yet precious.  The people that I build connections with combined with internships and on-campus initiatives may be enough to receive a job directly after college.  I am not the biggest of fan of traveling away from my friends and family, but I love to travel regardless and this has become an internal conflict for me as a writer and curious human being. 

Looking at the article on idealist gave insight to the possibilities that exist within having an entry-level job to build networking with other employees in the field.  I also need to realize how valuable hands-on, real world experience is when it comes to acquiring higher-paying and more experienced careers.  It is very important to consider the exact reasons why an M.A. or M.F.A. will be necessary for the future.  I also completely forgot about internships, volunteer work, and nonprofit organizations ability to improve my resume.  Workshops and college classes in other disciplines will not only improve my skills as a writer, but help create a more concrete definition of my intended career path.  Developing a route like this will help diffuse any anxiety and improve my motivation to be successful. 

In my family money has never been a major concern.  Currently I do not have any loans or scholarships to help support me.  That does not give me to right to float graduate school to my parents without a second thought.  It is not only money that would be wasted but time I could have been spending doing more productive and fulfilling activities related to Writing Arts.            




Leave a Reply.