It is not so much that I feel unchallenged, but disinterested.  As the past summer has ended I had lost interest in what I was writing, particularly due to the fact I was not doing it as often.  After the semester began I began to realize again why I enjoyed reading and writing in the first place.  This has become a constant reminder coupled with the new ideas and authors I’m learning about now.  The projects now are interesting and helpful, particularly in class since they help me for the future. 

In the next couple years I hope to not only have a job opportunity in the near future and a clearer idea of the most ideal career or specific market to pursue.  The classes I take now will be one of the largest proponents of my preference which market I decided to take my skills into.  However it also depends on where the work is.  If I can find work in a nearby location such as Philadelphia or even in New Jersey, that would become the most ideal career path for me.  One of my natural concerns as a student is finding a good business that hires writers directly after graduation.  Hopefully professor recommendations and prior publication experience will increase my chances of finding a job that can I can support myself on. 

Long-term career goals are simple: find a career that can support me financially.  While this may also include having a job that I will actually enjoy, but personally I am willing to accept a job that will help me grow as a person with more experience than not being able to support myself.  Currently my job interests include: editor, staff writer for a magazine or trade publication, and doing online publishing with other publications.  Self-publishing sounds difficult to build quickly and sending submissions for publication won’t pay bills or support me regularly.  What is most important is to keep writing every day.  At minimum I should be improving my skills as a writer and be twice as experienced as I was as a freshman. 

            The books I read for my classes, especially this current semester will become good references if I ever become stuck while working at a real job after college.  Certain textbooks will be good to keep over time.  Blogs illustrating the best way to enter certain markets, or pretty much online research in general will help me gain a better idea of how the market works and what to expect, for example, on a first day or what to ask in interviews.  This will also help when submitting to specific publications.  Knowing the auteur style of a publication or magazine is very important when getting acceptance letters. 

            My professors, people already enrolled in the industry, and students who are experiencing their new careers for the first time.  There is a certain degree of honesty each group will give me and create a recognizable parameter to measure the current market.           




Leave a Reply.